.

Patch Comments: 'The Real Problem Is ... the Finger on the Trigger'

The NRA's statement following the Newtown killings, President Obama's new gun task force, and a personal reflection on the Newtown deaths are just some of the topics that got Patch users talking on the comments board last week.

NRA Calls for 'Armed Security' Around Schools

"Shameful from the NRA. Why is there so much gun violence? "Not enough guns!" Every school should have an armed guard? He would just be the first target. To make that effective, every school will also need a single entrance with a metal detector, no side doors. Recess would have to take place behind walls, etc. These mass shootings are responsible for a minority of gun deaths, and there is no way to determine a current threat level, since a shooter usually comes out of nowhere, no warning. If he finds the guard, he will shoot him first, if he doesn't, how long will it take for the guard to confront the shooter? One minute? Two? Too late. This solves nothing, just serves to avoid any concessions on assault weapons. The biggest concern remains the day to day deaths, some 30-40 of them. Americans are not more evil, the gin saturation really IS the problem." -- Bjorn Olsson

... and ... 

"No, the real problem is not "gun saturation", its the finger on the trigger that is the problem..." -- A.P.Bogos

Lambs to the Slaughter

"I agree. We don't need to completely ban guns. But who needs a military type gun that shots 100 rounds? I can't understand how pro gun people talk about arming teachers with guns. What parent would want their child's teacher armed with gun? I think if pro gun people care about their right to bear arms and the people/children of our country, they will make compromise in gun laws. I would hope that pro gun individuals would care more for the safety of the society than their own right to bear arms that can mow down people in seconds." -- Samantha Jacobs

"I'm urging all anti-gun gun reform people to stay proactive and to lean forward on this issue. Please write to Schumer and Gillibrand and to your local House rep. I wrote to Nita Lowey and she responded. I would imagine congress is getting overwhelmed with emails judging by their responses. We can make a difference. Mayor Bloomberg spent 3.3 million of his own money in a PAC to defeat a pro gun congressman from California. We need to get organized; we need to stay vigilant and angry and we need to become and stay vocal. We can put this gun genie back in the bottle only if we unite and stay vocal." -- Racman63

"If you don't like guns, don't get one. Leave the rest of us alone, thanks. I feel very comfortable knowing there's a gun in our house. Not sure what the rest of you will do. 911? Good luck with that." -- Blaue Vogel

... and ... 

"If they are going to ban assault rifles and (eventually) all firearms, then I don't want to the government to have them either. Absolute power corrupts absolutely." -- The Last Patriot

HH January 07, 2013 at 02:24 PM
Gruber the Presidents dad was a muslim....his stepfather was a muslim...the president in his youth was enrolled in muslim schools in Indonisia.....hellooooooo.....and to answer the other post dont even try and compare the USA with South American countries not even close that is a very ridiculous argument for gun control and protecting our children in their schools.
Bjorn Olsson January 07, 2013 at 02:32 PM
Are you for real, Scam? If you truly believe any of that, you need to get out more.
Bjorn Olsson January 07, 2013 at 02:41 PM
He went to public school in Indonesia, and also a catholic school. They only decidedly religious school of the two would have been the catholic one. Now, HH, if we for a moment assume that all the conspiracy theories are true. Obama is (somehow) both a socialist AND a radical muslim, and all this has been kept secret, except from you and other individuals who have freed yourselves from the blinders the rest of us are wearing. Do we then assume that all his advisers, cabinet, and maybe the whole democratic party are part of this conspiracy? Is the ultimate goal by this vast conspiracy to create a muslim state or a communist one? And do all his supporters wish for this outcome? Or did he singlehandedly fool everyone around him for decades? To what end? Do you expect him to one day remove his mask and declare that the US is no under the control of Al Qaeda? What's the game here? I doubt his muslim overlords would be too impressed by his stance on gay marriage, or for that matter alternative energy...
John Gruber January 07, 2013 at 02:51 PM
Yea and my father and grandfather were Catholic, doesn't mean I follow the Catholic religion. He went to a Catholic school and was baptized. But I guess all Muslims are getting baptized these days....
HH January 07, 2013 at 02:58 PM
there has been much written on his ideology...his socialist leanings and his dislike of the constitution...why are ALL his records sealed and Michelles as well..what is he hiding? what is she hiding...why did they both turn in their Law Lic.?? it is no secret the Muslims want to take over and have made a point of breeding in many countries so they can sooner or later take over the majority vote and control....this is all written..Baptized Catholic? again Gruber as you said doesnt mean he follows the christian side...he speaks perfect Muslim also...conspiracy i have no clue...enough said we all have our own opinions and i hope your right and this president is harmless and will take care of our beloved country...i hope i am wrong..
Bjorn Olsson January 07, 2013 at 03:08 PM
"Musc written" means "much written by conspiracy theorists." So Michelle Obama is also a muslim now? What's the scoop on that? What records are "sealed?" Not being public record is not the same as "sealed." If you are of the "opinion" that Obama is secretly a Muslim (He speaks Muslim? What language is that?) maybe you could elaborate exactly on the implications you seem to fear? If you can't answer the questions about who you think is in on this conspiracy and how Obama might "take over" somehow, than your "opinion" is nothing more than a lazily half-baked notion. Muslims have "made a point of breeding in many countries???" what on earth does that mean? Does it mean to move in to a new country and push the native population aside and force them to adopt your religion? Sounds awfully familiar...
Abby Normal January 07, 2013 at 03:09 PM
HH, You need to stop watching Fox News. Their records aren't "sealed". It is simply a matter of law that college transcripts are not public information and they were not released. The turning in of their law licenses is another fallacy. In order to maintain your law license, there are CEU's and other requirements that must be met. I can't imagine that the President of the United States would be attending these seminars while he's in office, so he voluntarily made his license inactive. Should he want to, he can re-activate it. As to your Islamophobia that seems to be something you're quite disturbed by, I ask you to recall the Crusades. Speaking perfect Muslim? Sorry but not a language at all. Tell you what, Maybe the President will release his college transcripts when Sarah Palin shows us her High School Diploma.
John Gruber January 07, 2013 at 03:28 PM
"it is no secret the Muslims want to take over and have made a point of breeding in many countries so they can sooner or later take over the majority vote and control" "he speaks perfect Muslim also." Thank you for not only showing you know absolutely nothing about the Muslim faith, but you're also a mild bigot. Muslims are trying to take over? I don't know what news channel you're watching, I don't even think Fox News is dumb enough to say that, but I suggest you watch something that has a better grip on reality ( and the religion that you're so quick to incorrectly insult)
John Gruber January 07, 2013 at 03:32 PM
so he was baptized, raised by a Christian mother and attended Catholic school but he's a muslim? If only you could see just how absurdly idiotic that line of reasoning is.
HH January 07, 2013 at 03:59 PM
i had said enough said...will not debate this with you two especially...you have your opinions and so have I...you get your info from sources and i get my info from sources...no i do not like Muslims...Twin Towers...countless lives lost..disruption of our lives here in this country...on an on...if you love muslims go for it...its your right..and if you love an defend obama and his wife that again is your right. I have a right to my opinions without your insulting caustic remarks..so to repeat..enough said...there is no need to post further....
Bjorn Olsson January 07, 2013 at 04:10 PM
HH, if your "opinions" only hold in a vacuum, and you won't defend them, what value do they have? And the "well, if you love muslims so much, then go for it" deflection is pure sandbox level. Can you back up your claim that Obama is a muslim, and that this means he has a secret plan to harm this country, and maybe include some thoughts on exactly he would accomplish this? You may have "a right to your opinions", but you don't have a right to have them taken seriously without them at least make some kind of sense.
Walt January 07, 2013 at 04:21 PM
So who and when was baptized obama again? Oh yeah, Rev Wright in 1990 when he was 30 years old, his mother seemed real concerned about raising a Christian. As far as his Catholic school, I'm having a hard time finding out which Parish obama lived in while he while in Indonesia from age 6 to 10. Indonesia has more Muslims than any country in the world and the fact is he didn't go to the "American School" when he was living there, he went to a Madrasa. John Gruber, selective memory at it's best.
Nummy January 07, 2013 at 04:30 PM
250 useless and mostly copy and paste comments, maybe the world should of ended on Dec 21st oops, 251 now
John Gruber January 07, 2013 at 04:34 PM
Selective memory? A) He was baptized B) He went to St. Francis of Assisi Catholic School C) He was sworn in on the bible I guess all Muslims are getting baptized, going to Catholic school and swearing oaths on the bible... you say I have selective memory?
Bjorn Olsson January 07, 2013 at 04:37 PM
Walt, are you saying he did not attend the St Francis of Assisi School in Jakarta? In any case, all that stuff is kind of beside the point. The point would be: Do you believe he is a "secret muslim now?" Is there a conspiracy to 'destroy this country' and bring it into the muslim world somehow? If so, is he working alone, or his his whole staff and everyone he has worked with in his political life in on it as well? And when can we expect to see this trap slam shut?
John Gruber January 07, 2013 at 04:39 PM
your theory that he's a muslim is no more credible than the Einstein's who think 9/11 was orchestrated by the government. People like you WANT him to be muslim just so you can give yourselves more reasons not to like him because apparently you all have something against all muslims. I'm not his biggest fan, doesn't mean I believe the pure crap about him.
John Gruber January 07, 2013 at 05:10 PM
he loves them so much he spent $18 billion trying to keep them out. once again uninformed http://news.yahoo.com/govt-spent-18-billion-immigration-enforcement-143135675--politics.html
Walt January 07, 2013 at 06:31 PM
I don't know what he is because he does not go to any church on a regular basis. He also expounds the virtues of Islam in his books at length as well as a fond connection to it. If you think being baptized by Wright and belonging to his church is a good thing, then say so. I don't have anything against Muslims except those that want to kill us or are slow/refuse to criticize anyone of the Muslim faith that does.
Bjorn Olsson January 07, 2013 at 07:01 PM
Walt, personally I don't really care about anyone's religion, as long as they keep as far away as possible from their politics. "By its fruit you shall know the tree"-kind of thing, you know? So Walt, when you doubt he is a christian and for some reason is a secret muslim, what are you implying this means for the country?
Walt January 07, 2013 at 07:22 PM
Bjorn, I said I don't know what he is because religion is not important part of his professional or private life. My comments are directed toward the poster that refuses to acknowledge the fact that obama has a significant Muslim influence in his upbringing. To hear Gruber tell it, you'd think obama was raised next door to the St Nicholas of Tolentine and played on their CYO team.
John Gruber January 07, 2013 at 07:23 PM
I find virtues of Judaism pretty important, does that make me a "secret jew"? "I don't know what he is because he does not go to any church on a regular basis" Exactly, he doesn't go to ANY religious place of worship on a regular basis, Muslim or otherwise. So how exactly does that make him a "secret muslim"? And both of if his biological parents, including the mother that raised him, were not deeply involved in religion.
Bjorn Olsson January 07, 2013 at 08:09 PM
Walt: Funny, I don't get that from Gruber's postings. In the real world, out here where the sun is shining, Obama has declared himself a christian, he is baptized, he went to a catholic school for a good chunk of the few years he lived in indonesia. Why would you need more proof than that to accept these facts? Why would he secretly be a muslim?
John Gruber January 07, 2013 at 08:36 PM
First of all the question isn't "was he influenced my Islam growing up". The question, as dumb as it may be, is "is he a muslim". And the facts that he was baptized, raised by a Christian mother, went to Catholic school and swore an oath on the bible says no, he is not. And if you listen to HH you'd think he was a Jihadist involved in 9/11. I wonder who has the better grasp on the truth and reality in general...
John Gruber January 07, 2013 at 08:37 PM
There was nothing insulting. Thinking all muslims are terrorists and basing your opinion on all of them from just a few radicals is the definition of bigotry. Despite the fact intolerance like that like probably deserves an insult, we don't need any more discrimination in this world than we already have. you are essentially contributing to the problem
Mike January 08, 2013 at 12:02 AM
If true, this is truly alarming. Given that the government bailed out BOA, is this their way of helping out the Administration? http://cnsnews.com/blog/gregory-gwyn-williams-jr/bank-america-freezes-gun-manufacturers-account-company-owner-claims
Bjorn Olsson January 08, 2013 at 12:18 AM
:-)
Aidan January 08, 2013 at 12:20 AM
"But where, I’d like to ask my colleagues in the media, is the reporting about the psychiatric medications the perpetrator – who had been under treatment for mental-health problems – may have been taking?" Read more at http://www.wnd.com/2013/01/the-giant-gaping-hole-in-sandy-hook-reporting/#otuFTdsd6k8J6tmJ.99
Aidan January 08, 2013 at 12:23 AM
Well, this lady likes her gun. A lot. http://hotair.com/archives/2013/01/06/mom-shoots-intruder-saves-kids/
bruiser January 08, 2013 at 02:28 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sAdPq87v3Kk The great liberal guru Michael Moore on the use of such drugs.
tvita January 30, 2013 at 09:14 PM
Ross, you dont have to bash Woman.. You clearly are igotistic and love to bash peoples opininons.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »