Katonah Memorial House
Drag box to select area
The Katonah Memorial House has a rich history in the community. First founded as the Katonah Suffrage Club in 1913, it was used by the venerable ladies who strove for women's rights at the beginning of the century. Upon gaining ownership of the property and while laying the cornerstone of this building on Memorial Day in 1924, the suffragettes dedicated it to the men and women who served in the war.<br /><br />After many of the club's goals for women's rights were achieved, the group decided to change its name to the Women's Civic Club of Katonah. One of the club's main objectives has always been to give back to the community through charitable giving and scholarships. The thrift shop was created for that purpose, as a benevolent arm of the organization. It has carried on from its inception in 1945 to today and is the main source of income for the group's charitable purposes. Customers will find the shop located to the rear of the Memorial House.<br /><br />Today members of the organization meet monthly and continue their tradition of civic responsibility and good deeds. The Memorial House's large open meeting room, two smaller side rooms and spacious kitchen may also be rented out for special events, meetings and activities.
71 Bedford Rd, Katonah, NY 10536
- Fax: 408-378-9392
- Hours: Mon - Wed, 10am - 4pm; Fri, 10am - 4pm; Sat, 10am - 1pm; Thu, Sun, closed
- Hours: Mon - Wed, Fri, Sat, 9am - 6pm; Thu, 9am - 9pm; Sun, 11am - 5pm
- Accessible: yes