.

Letter: Ball Fights for Women's Issues

Grea J. Kulhanek of South Salem writes in on campaign mailers and Greg Ball.

To the editor:

It must be election time, since I have received three anonymous mailers in the past week attacking Sen. Greg Ball as somehow being “anti-women." As a senior citizen, a former chief financial officer and the mother of a young, professional, woman, I find the nature of these attacks and the demeaning  "1950s style" of the mailers to be disgraceful.

Sen. Ball has a well established record of fighting for issues important to women, most notably for equal pay, combating domestic violence and supporting children and families through initiatives that extend health coverage for out-of-network costs.  And he has been a key leader in ending the dysfunction in State government.

These anonymous attacks confirm for me that the reforms he has helped accomplish working with Gov. Cuomo are a threat to the many entrenched interests in Albany.

The Senator‘s opponent, Manhattan lawyer Justin Wagner, whose photo and information appears in one of the mailers, should disavow them. But that's unlikely, as Mr. Wagner has remained silent throughout the recent scandal which saw Albany Democratic leader Sheldon Silver pay over $100,000 of taxpayer funds as "hush money" to cover up sexual-harassment claims against one of his fellow Democratic legislators.

Unemployment and property taxes are still unacceptably high, and our housing prices are still declining as overburdened taxpayers continue to flee our state. With so many important issues affecting our families, I find this anonymous, underhanded form of attack to be both shameful and counterproductive. Voters deserve better!

Sincerely,

Grea J. Kulhanek

Steve October 27, 2012 at 06:48 PM
Greg Ball's ads don't mention that he is a proud member of the Republic party, and the Republic party's OFFICIAL policy is that they are "Pro Life" and are 100% opposed to women's freedom of choice. All of Ms. Kulhanek's talking points are designed to point people's attention AWAY from the extreme Pro-Life opposition to a woman's choice to make her own decisions about her own body and her own life. It's typical of Republic party hypocrisy that they puclicly clamor for smaller government, yet they created the largest government agency (TSA) in the history of American. Now, the "small government" Republic party wants complete control over women's health and women's right to make her own personal health choices. ALL Republic party candidates are permanently attached to, and committed to the elections of Romeny, who is 100% opposed to women's rights to choose. No..........Ms. Kulahanek, none of your pro-Romney, anti-women's choice, Republic party rhetoric is honest, and none of is in the best interests of ALL Americans, especially women.
Teleman October 27, 2012 at 07:11 PM
While I disagree with many republican policies, the notion that womens' right will be set back if Romney is elected is just liberal scare tactics. Did anyone have trouble getting birth control or exams under reagan, or bush 1 or bush 2? Didn't think so.. God help us if we make it even the slightest bit difficult to committ an abortion- we now give out birth control for free and the animals are still breeding uncontrollably.
Walden Macnair October 27, 2012 at 07:36 PM
Jenga, You really need to tell us what, "animals" you are speaking of. I hear dog whistles all the time and if you want to infer or say something, then have the guts to say it out loud where we can all hear your views and what makes you tick. You've probably never even seen the Republican Platform. The Platform states that they want to ban all abortions in this country. All, Jenga, not just make it more difficult. They want to give Personhood to zygotes which not only makes abortion illegal for rape victims but makes Invitro Fertilization illegal for women wanting babies. Romney and Ryan are the most extreme, anti-woman, anti-gay, anti middle class candidates in the history of this country and electing them would be the worst mistake the people of this country could ever make.
007 October 27, 2012 at 09:03 PM
Greg Balls exgirlfriend filed for an order of protection, Journal news reported that a former member of Balls staff had accused him of sexually harrassing her in a letter sent to assembly speaker sheldon silver detailing the incident and greg was a Drug addict he loves cocaine. We call him Greg 8 Ball
007 October 27, 2012 at 11:47 PM
Chris what about the cocaine
Teleman October 28, 2012 at 02:25 AM
I've seen some pretty radical agendas from the dems too, but as we all know things usually ride down the middle when all is said and done- this is the usual nonsense we see in desperation when one party or another thinks they are falling behind in an election.The platform clearly states they support a human life amendment to the Constitution ( amending the Constitution requires a national convention, very unlikely) The rest of the platform, weather you agree with it or not says that the States should be able to decide these issues for themselves- not to "crazy radical to me" As far as animals,I am referring to those who generation after generation, live off of the system, procreate fatherless, many times motherless families that in turn continue the pattern.Abortion is a form of birth control for many of them. If you are inferring any racial component to what I am talking about, you must have a guilty conscience, because these people come in all colors and nationalities.
Teleman October 28, 2012 at 02:31 AM
And also, what is the reason you talk about these things in such dramatic language? And we have an Obama campaign ad comparing voting for Obama the first time to a first sexual encounter? Because the REAL issues that people care about are jobs, the economy and taxes- he has no choice but to attack on these other secondary fringe issues- Benghazi is looking more and more like the disaster we all knew it was a month ago, welfare is the largest item in the federal budget @ almost $1trillion, social security disability filings are at a record high on and on- and we really think women all of sudden won't be able to get birth control or abortions? Be real,
Teleman October 28, 2012 at 02:43 AM
I love election time, that whole thing was totally vetted the last time around. get some new material!
Teleman October 28, 2012 at 02:53 AM
As far as gay marriage, I have nothing against gay people or unions that give them most of the benefits of married couples- my biggest problem was that they HAVE to own the word marriage- they were not happy with calling it anything else. An orientation of 22% of the population should not require the majority to change time honored definitions of sacred institutions so they can "feel normal" Just my opinion
Bassett October 28, 2012 at 12:17 PM
Regarding your peculiar comment that Gay people need to 'own' the word marriage and that they should be happy with almost the rights of others, you and me included is breathtakingly reprehensible. Keep up your chatter, but I see no reason for anyone to give your thoughts the time of day.
bruiser October 28, 2012 at 01:03 PM
Jenga remember these word from above,( 22% of the population should not require the majority to change) remember my friend these words will come back to haunt you.
Walden Macnair October 28, 2012 at 02:36 PM
Jenga, Who decided that you should be the one to define marriage? Marriage existed long before Christianity and has been changed multiple times throughout the years. The fact that you can't buy a bride for two goats and a pig has already re-defined marriage. The fact that inter-racial marriage is no longer illegal, re-defined marriage. What gives you or anyone else the right to define what group of citizens should be allowed which rights? It amazes me that you and your ilk still have these antiquated and bigoted views of the world but really amazes me, is that you can't see your own bigotry.
Jill Gertz October 28, 2012 at 03:02 PM
Homosexuals aren't 22% of the population - they are just over 2% according to CDC, Gallup and other polls. "Americans Have No Idea How Few Gay People There Are" http://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2012/05/americans-have-no-idea-how-few-gay-people-there-are/257753/
Bassett October 28, 2012 at 04:29 PM
Your point ?
Jane E. Schneider October 29, 2012 at 12:00 AM
Jenga, you still haven't answered Walden Macnair's question about these "animals breeding uncontrollably." To whom are you referring as "animals"?
Teleman October 29, 2012 at 12:14 AM
Actually I fully answered it above, on my October 27th, 10:25pm post very clearly. You can go to the liberal time tested tactics of calling me a racist and a bigot, of which I am the farthest from, because I could care less about the ethnicity or sexual orientation of anyone- As stated it's MY opinion to which I am entitled- I am not so high on my horse to think that I personally define marriage- it's my opinion.
Teleman October 29, 2012 at 12:16 AM
as Jill presented above, a very small fraction of the population wants to throw their sexuality in everyones face- thats what I have a problem with.
Teleman October 29, 2012 at 12:17 AM
You're right, it's not even close to 22%, I used inflated numbers. My apologies.
Teleman October 29, 2012 at 12:21 AM
Election day is November 6th, and if gay rights, birth control paranoia and abortions are what is driving your vote, then good for you - it's all a distraction so the kool aid drinkers don't think about jobs, the economy and government spending- that's what's important to the grown ups and the producers- $1 trillion in welfare spending, we declared "war" in poverty in the late 60's and with the untold trillions we've spent, the numbers are about the same- except the poor now have iphones, playstations and 60" tv's.
Teleman October 29, 2012 at 12:24 AM
Rights was the wrong word I admit- I am talking about legal representations and benefits- like health insurance- which is not a right
Teleman October 29, 2012 at 12:25 AM
Good night all, see you at Romneys' inaguration!
007 October 29, 2012 at 10:08 PM
Romneys is a 3-1 underdog he has NO chance
bruiser October 29, 2012 at 10:39 PM
007 i and my family will be voting for Obama and at this time nothing will change my mind,but one thing i will suggest is, do not count your chickens before they hatch.I give this advice quite often and i give this advice no matter who the voter is,republican or democrat (JUST VOTE THAT"S WHAT COUNTS) any individual who doesn't vote doesn't have any say in what happens if they stay home.
George Carey November 03, 2012 at 08:42 PM
Greg Ball, Gay Rights Advocate? NY State Senator Greg Ball, whose pink signs are popping up again, appointed Gerard Gershonowitz to his staff as a Program Associate. Gershonowitz is the Westchester Chairman of the Log Cabin Republicans, a homosexual advocacy group. Ball also opposes the military's "don't ask, don't tell"" policy. GREG BALL WOULD HAVE VOTED TO LEGALIZE HOMOSEXUAL MARRIAGE IF REPUBLICAN CELEBRITIES AGREED TO CAMPAIGN FOR HIM!!! The following is from a NY Times blog last year when Greg Ball couldn't make up his mind whether homosexual marriage was a good idea: http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/06/27/how-the-same-sex-marriage-deal-nearly-collapsed/?partner=rss&emc=rss It was a brazen request, gay marriage advocates thought. Senator Greg Ball, a Republican, told them that if he voted to legalize same-sex marriage, he wanted assurances that national Republican leaders would campaign for him. His top choice: former Vice President Dick Cheney. Mr. Ball, of Putnam County, eventually voted no. But he said he did not regret his request. “As far as Cheney,” he explained by e-mail, “we suggested the need to have nationally prominent conservatives ready to support moderate Republicans willing to support either civil unions or marriage equality, in tough primaries. “Hopefully, they listened, because some of these voting yes are going to have a tough re-election fight.”
Frankie November 06, 2012 at 12:19 AM
there is NO REASON to vote for Greg Ball. He's been so lame on housing, the environment, jobs....Last election day he stood in a parking lot on 202 with Terrence Murphy and Katz declaring he was going to create jobs with another box store. duh, it never happened. Throw him out...he's useless.
James Adnaraf November 29, 2012 at 06:36 PM
The debate over gay marriage is a fair topic. But to those many people who believe opponents of gay marriage are all bigots, you are showing a lack of tolerance. If you think that opposing gay marriage while supporting civil unions makes a person a homophobe recognize this:most of the Democratic Party was homophobic until their recent evolution to supporting same sex marriage.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »